Here’s who won at the 52nd annual JUNO Awards

Avril Lavigne holding her JUNO at the 52nd annual JUNO Awards on March 13, 2023. (Courtesy: JUNO Awards)

Canada’s best in music were celebrated at the 52nd annual JUNO Awards on Monday with The Weeknd breaking a new milestone. 

Hosted for the second time by Canadian movie star Simu Liu, the awards were broadcast from Rogers Place in Edmonton. 

The Weeknd brought home five awards last night, and now has collected a total of 22 wins in a decade. The impressive collection makes him the second most decorated JUNO winner of all time after breaking his tie with Bryan Adams. Anne Murray still holds the top spot for the most decorated JUNO winner with 25 awards. 

 “I am so honored to be recognized like this from my home country that I love so much. I’m so humbled by all this and could never thank fans enough,” The Weeknd said in a statement. The Weeknd did not attend the awards ceremony.

Among his wins last night are artist of the year, single of the year with “Sacrifice” and album of the year with Dawn FM

Meanwhile, Arkells won group of the year, while Preston Pablo won breakthrough artist of the year and Banx & Ranx won best breakthrough group of the year. Tenille Towne’s album Masquerades won country album of the year, while Alexisonfire’s Otherness won rock album of the year.

During the show, Canadians were given a chance to vote for the TikTok JUNO fan choice, which was awarded to pop rock singer Avril Lavigne and marked the fourth time she has won the award. 

Earlier in the show while Lavigne was speaking to the crowd, a topless woman ran on stage to protest the Ontario government’s development of the Greenbelt. The woman had “Save the Greenbelt” and “Land Back” written on her body. In video of the incident, Lavigne is heard telling the protester to “Get the f**k off.” 

A full list of the winners can be found here

Some of Canada’s biggests stars hit the stage throughout the night, including a joint performance by Banx & Ranx with Preston Pablo and Rêve. Stars also collaborated for a four-song medley performance honouring the 50th anniversary of hip hop, which included Kardinal Offishall, Haviah Mighty, Michie Mee, Dream Warriors, Choclair and TOBI. 

Last night’s broadcast also included Nickleback’s induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Vancouver-born actor Ryan Reynolds made a special virtual appearance to induct the group and celebrate the band for their contributions to Canadian music. 

Four more Canadian artists will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame this year, including French Canadian singer Diane Dufresne, jazz pianist Dr. Oliver Jones, country music superstar Terri Clark and rock band Trooper. 

Notable presenters who graced the stage last night were actor and comedian Andrew Phung from Run the Burbs, nine-time JUNO award winner Avril Lavigne and multi-platform R&B singer Jessie Reyez. 

Fans can rewatch every performance from the award show on CBC Gem, and the JUNO Awards social channels.

Stay In The Know with Now Toronto

Be the first to know about new and exclusive content