nowtoronto.com Readers Poll

You've read our choices for the best of.


You’ve read our choices for the best of Toronto. But you have a few opinions of your own. Here are your picks for the best our city has to offer, according to our online readers poll.

Artists

Best Local Author Margaret Atwood
Best Local Band Broken Social Scene
Best Local Busker Silver Elvis
Best Local Choreographer Christopher House
Best Local DJ DJ Tricky Moreira
Best Local Fashion Designer Arthur Medonca
Best Local Female Actor Sarah Polley
Best Local Female Vocalist Divine Brown
Best Local Film Maker Atom Egoyan
Best Local Graffiti Artist La Bomba
Best Local Male Actor Ryan Gosling
Best Local Male Vocalist Kardinal Offishal
Best Local Playwright Hannah Moscovitch
Best Local Small Theatre Company Factory Theatre 125 Bathurst, 416-504-9971 factorytheatre.ca
Best Local Songwriter Donovan Woods
Best Local Stand Up Comedian Debra DiGiovanni
Best Local Tattoo Artist Rob Coutts, Bobby Five, bobbyfive.com
Best Local Visual Artist Richard Mongiat

Food & Drink

Best African Restaurant Ethiopian House 4 Irwin, 416-923-5438 ethiopianhouse.com

Best All You Can Eat Mandarin Various locations mandarinbuffet.com

Best Bagel What a Bagel Various locations whatabagel.com

Best Bakery Future Bakery Various locations futurebakery.com

Best Bar and Grill Milestone’s Various locations milestonesrestaurants.com

Best Bartender Jessica at Velvet Underground 510 Queen W, 416-504-6688 libertygroup.com

Best BBQ Chicken Swiss Chalet Various locations swisschalet.com

Best Beer Selection Bier Markt 58 the Esplanade (416-862-7575), and 600 King W (416-862-1175) thebiermarkt.com

Best Breakfast Sunset Grill Various locations sunsetgrill.ca

Best Burger Lick’s Various locations lickshomeburgers.com

Best Business Lunch Moxie’s Classic Grill Various locations moxies.ca

Best Cappuccino Starbucks Various locations starbucks.com

Best Caribbean Restaurant Island Foods Various locations island-foods.com

Best Caterer daniel et daniel 248 Carlton, 416-968-9275 danieletdaniel.ca

Best Chinese Restaurant Rol San 323 Spadina, 416-977-1128

Best Chocolate Shop Soma Chocolatemaker 55 Mill, bldg 48, unit 102, 416-815-7662 somachocolate.com

Best Dessert Shop Dufflet Pastries 787 Queen W (416-504-2870), and other locations dufflet.com

Best Diner/Greasy Spoon Dangerous Dan’s 714 Queen E, 416-463-7310 dangerousdansdiner.com

Best Falafel King David Pizza And Falafel 3020 Bathurst (416-781-1326), and other locations kingdavid-pizza.com

Best Fish and Chips Chippy’s 893 Queen W (416-866-7474), 490 Bloor W (416-516-7776) chippys.ca

Best French Restaurant Le Select 432 Wellington W, 416-596-6405 leselect.com

Best Gourmet Takeout Dash Kitchen 236 Danforth, 416-463-3274 dashkitchen.ca

Best Greek Restaurant Mr. Greek Various locations mrgreek.com

Best Indian Restaurant Nataraj 394 Bloor W, 416-928-2925 nataraj.ca

Best Italian Restaurant Terroni 720 Queen W (416-504-0320), and other locations terroni.ca

Best Japanese Restaurant New Generation Sushi 493 Bloor W, 416-963-8861 newgenerationsushi.com

Best Latin Restaurant Boulevard Café 161 Harbord, 416-961-7676 boulevardcafe.sites.toronto.com

Best Lunch Under $10 Quesada Mexican Grill 234 Wellington W (416-644-0876), and other locations quesada.ca

Best Martini Eat My Martini 648 College, 416-516-2549

Best Mexican Restaurant Quesada Mexican Grill 234 Wellington W (416-644-0876), and other locations quesada.ca

Best Microbrew Mill Street Brew Pub 55 Mill, 416-681-0338 millstreetbrewery.com

Best Middle Eastern Restaurant Jerusalem House 955 Eglinton W (416-783-6494), and 4777 Leslie (416-490-7888) jerusalem-restaurant.ca

Best New Restaurant (less than 1 year old) Sidecar 577 College, 416-536-7000 sidecarrestaurant.ca

Best Pizza Amato 534 Queen W (416-703-8989), and other locations amatopizza.com

Best Place for Ice Cream Dutch Dreams 78 Vaughan, 416-656-6959 dutchdreams.ca

Best Pub Food Brazen Head Irish Pub 165 East Libery, 416-535-8787 brazenhead.ca

Best Restaurant For A Date 7 West Café 7 Charles W, 416-928-9041 7westcafe.com

Best Restaurant Patio Trattoria Nervosa 75 Yorkville, 416-961-4642 eatnervosa.com

Best Restaurant Server Cherry Cola from Shanghai Cowgirl 538 Queen W, 416-203-6623 shanghaicowgirl.com

Best Restaurant Oliver & Bonacini 2901 Bayview, 416-590-1300 oliverbonacini.com

Best Sandwich California Sandwich 244 Claremont (416-603-3317), and other locations californiasandwiches.com

Best Seafood Restaurant Oyster Boy 872 Queen W, 416-534-3432 oyster.boy.ca

Best Specialty Coffee Shop Bulldog Coffee 89 Granby bulldogtoronto.com

Best Specialty Pizza Magic Oven 788 Broadview (416-868-6836), and other locations magicoven.com

Best Splurge Restaurant Blowfish 668 King W, 416-860-0606 blowfishrestaurant.com

Best Steak The Keg 515 Jarvis (416-964-6609), and other locations kegsteakhouse.com

Best Thai Restaurant Salad King 335 Yonge, 416-971-7041 saladking.com

Best Veggie-Friendly Restaurant Fresh 326 Bloor W (416-531-2635), and other locations juiceforlife.com

Best Vietnamese Pho Hung 200 Bloor W, 416-963-5080

Hot Spots

Best Art Gallery Art Gallery of Ontario 317 Dundas W, 416-979-6648 ago.net

Best Bar or Pub The Beaconsfield 1154 Queen W, 416-516-2550 thebeaconsfield.com

Best Beauty Spa Elmwood Spa 18 Elm, 416-977-6751 elmwoodspa.com

Best Blues Club Silver Dollar 486 Spadina, 416-975-9631 silverdollarroom.com

Best Body Piercing Blair byblair.com

Best Comedy Club Yuk Yuk’s 224 Richmond W, 416-967-6425 yukyuks.com

Best Concert Hall Massey Hall 178 Victoria, 416-872-4255 masseyhall.com

Best Dance Club Circa 126 John, 416-979-0044 circatoronto.com

Best Dyke Bar Beaver Café 1192 Queen W, 416-537-2768

Best Free Event Gay Pride

Best Gay Bar Woody’s 465-467 Church, 416-972-0887 woodystoronto.com

Best Gym/Fitness Club Goodlife Fitness 12 St Clair E (416-927-8042), and other locations goodlifefitness.com

Best Jazz Club The Rex 194 Queen W, 416-598-2475 rex.ca

Best Karaoke Bar Gladstone Hotel 1214 Queen W, 416-531-4635 gladstonehotel.com

Best Large Theatre Canstage Bluma Appel Theatre (27 Front E), Berkeley Theatre (26 Berkeley), 416-368-3110 canstage.com

Best Live Music Club Sound Academy (formerly the Docks) 11 Polson Pier, 416-649-PIER (7437) sound-academy.com

Best Museum Royal Ontario Museum 100 Queen’s Park, 416-586-8000 rom.on.ca

Best Park High Park

Best Pool Hall Rivoli 332 Queen W, 416-596-1501 rivoli.ca

Best Repertory Theatre Revue Cinema 400 Roncesvalles, 416-531-9959 revuecinema.ca

Best Small Theatre Factory Theatre 125 Bathurst, 416-504-9971 factorytheatre.ca

Best Yoga Studio Yoga Sanctuary 2 College, suite 306 (416-928-3236), and 95 Danforth, suite 301 (416-461-6161) yogasanctuary.net

Media

Best Blog Torontoist torontoist.com
Best Local Radio DJ/Host DJ Tricky Moreira FLOW 93.5 flow935.com
Best Local Radio Station FLOW 93.5 flow935.com
Best Local TV Personality Dina Pugliese CityTV citytv.com
Best Local TV Station CityTV citytv.com
Best Website Facebook facebook.com

Shops

Best Jeans Store Over the Rainbow 101 Yorkville, 416-967-7448 rainbowjeans.com

Best Leather Store Danier Various locations danier.com

Best Men’s Clothing Store Harry Rosen Various locations harryrosen.com

Best Music Equipment Store Steve’s Music Store 415 Queen W, 416-593-8888 stevesmusic.com

Best Natural Food Market Big Carrot 348 Danforth, 416-466-2129 bigcarrot.ca

Best Newsstand/ Magazine Store La Presse Internationale 622 College W (416-535-9666), and other locations

Best Optical Store Hakim Various locations hakimoptical.ca

Best Pet Store Small Wonders Pet Emporium Inc 140 Danforth, 416-462-3773

Best Sex Supplies Store Condom Shack 231 Queen W, 416-596-7515 condomshack.com

Best Shoe Store Heel Boy 682 Queen W, 416-362-4335 heelboy.com

Best Skate/Snowboard Shop Boardsports 2008 & 2010 Yonge, 416-485-9463 boardsports.ca

Best Specialty/ Used Record Store Rotate This 801 Queen W, 416-504-8744 rotate.com

Best Sporting Goods Store Sporting Life 2665 Yonge (416-485-1611), and other locations sportinglife.ca

Best Unique Gift Store Rolo 24 Bellair, 416-920-0100 rolostore.com

Best Used Bookstore BMV 10 Edward (416-977-3087), and 2889 Yonge (416-482-6002)

Best Vintage Clothing Store Divine Decadence 136 Cumberland, 416-324-9759

Best Vitamin/Herbalist Store Tutti Frutti Health Food Store 64 Kensington, 416-593-9281

Best Women’s Clothing Store Winners Various locations winners.ca

Best Art Supply Store Curry’s Various locations currys.com

Best Audio Equipment Store Bay Bloor Radio 55 Bloor W, 416-967-1122 baybloorradio.com

Best Bicycle Store Spokes and Sports 1899 Avenue, 416-787-6238 spokesandsports.com

Best Bookstore Indigo Various locations chapters.indigo.ca

Best Bulk Food Bulk Barn Various locations bulkbarnfoods.ca

Best Camera Store Henry’s 119 Church (416-868-0872), and other locations henrys.com

Best CD/Record Store HMV Various locations hmv.ca

Best Computer Store Future Shop Various locations futureshop.ca

Best Costume Store Malabar 14 McCaul, 416-598-2581 malabar.net

Best DVD/Video Store Blockbuster Various locations blockbuster.ca

Best Farmer’s Market Dufferin Grove Dufferin Grove Park, 875 Dufferin duferinpark.ca/market

Best Furniture Store Ikea 1475 the Queensway (416-646-4532), and 15 Provost (416-222-4532) ikea.com

Best Indie Video Store Queen Video 412 Queen W (416-504-3030), 688 College (416-532-0555)

Best Jewellery Store Mark Lash 9033 Leslie ##8, Richmond Hill, 905-881-5229 marklash.com

Best Mall Eaton Centre Yonge and Dundas torontoeatoncentre.com

Movers & Shakers

Best Activist Organization ACT 399 Church, 416-340-2437 actoronto.org
Best City Councillor Kyle Rae
Best Local MP Peggy Nash
Best Local MPP Michael Bryant

Services

Best Bike Mechanic Curbside 412 Bloor W, 416-920-4933 curbside.on.ca
Best Cell Phone Provider Rogers rogers.com
Best Dentist Judy Sturm 77 Bloor W, 416-967-4212 yorkvillesmiles.com
Best Doctor Steve Gottesman 491 Lawrence W, suite 101, 416-787-0117
Best Driving School Young Drivers of Canada yd.com
Best Florist Blooming Hill Flowers 1700 Avenue, 416-781-7135 bloominghillflowers.com
Best Hair Salon Fiorio Salon & Spa 1819 Avenue (416-256-4700), and other locations fiorio.com
Best Internet Provider Rogers rogers.com
Best Introduction/ Dating Service eharmony.ca
Best Language School/Classes George Brown College georgebrown.ca
Best Travel Agent Flight Centre Various locations flighcentre.ca
Best Veterinarian Downtown Animal Hospital 579 Church, 416-966-5122 downtownanimalhospital.com

Leave your opinion for the editor...We read everything!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • This Week’s Issue