Here is the 2020 Polaris Music Prize short list

The winner of this year's $50,000 prize for best Canadian album of the year will be announced at a virtual event on October 19

The Polaris Music Prize has announced this year’s 10 album short list for the best Canadian album award.

A large jury of critics, journalists and radio hosts voted on the list and a yet-to-be-determined 11-person grand jury will pick the winner, who will be awarded $50,000. Last year’s winner was Haviah Mighty’s 13th Floor.

This year’s gala event is not happening due to the coronavirus pandemic. Instead, a “special cinematic tribute” will take place virtually on CBC Gem, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube on October 19.

It’s a diverse list this year with a variety of genres represented. Six artists (Junia-T, Pantayo, Lido Pimienta, Jessie Reyez, U.S. Girls and Witch Prophet) hail from Toronto. There are also three previous Polaris winners on the list: Caribou, Kaytranada and Pimienta.

There are some welcome surprise Polaris first-timers, too, including trans horrorcore rapper Backxwash, Filipinx kulintang-punk-R&B ensemble Pantayo and Indigenous shoegazers nêhiyawak.

Here’s the full 2020 Polaris Prize short list:

Backxwash – God Has Nothing To Do With This Leave Him Out Of It

Caribou – Suddenly

Junia-T – Studio Monk

Kaytranada – Bubba

nêhiyawak – nipiy

Pantayo – Pantayo

Lido Pimienta – Miss Colombia

Jessie Reyez – Before Love Came To Kill Us

U.S. Girls – Heavy Light

Witch Prophet – DNA Activation


Brand Voices

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NOW Magazine